what are the differences between MPH and MBA??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicoloco

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international medical graduate and I would like to know the differences between MPH and MBA..which one is better?? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

medicoloco said:
I am an international medical graduate and I would like to know the differences between MPH and MBA..which one is better?? Thanks

A Masters in Public Health will allow you to learn more about epidemiology and biostatistics, health policy, health decision-making and behavior, improvement of health care, environmental health sciences, social and behavioral science, health services administration.

A Masters in Business Administration will allow you to learn about health if you take a MBA in Health Care or Health Care Management. I'm not sure if you're referring to a regular MBA or one of those. The MBA in Health Care is more useful for management and the economics of health care.

I would suggest taking a MPH vs. the MBA because it will allow you to learn much more about the health care concepts and ethics you touched in medical school, but it all depends on which area of medicine you want to actually go into. If you prefer to do management in a hospital or something, then a MBA could be more useful, but I still suggest the MPH.

Thanks chekamundo for the explanation. I am interested in the management of the hospital or pharmaceutical company so I think an MBA in health care will be more useful, right?
The big question is which one will help me to make more money, MPH or MBA?

Members don't see this ad :)
medicoloco said:
Thanks chekamundo for the explanation. I am interested in the management of the hospital or pharmaceutical company so I think an MBA in health care will be more useful, right?
The big question is which one will help me to make more money, MPH or MBA?