MD What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BenignBeignet

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
MCAT: 513
GPA: cGPA 3.65, sGPA 3.55
Of note:
I’m a transfer student; CA resident. Straight A’s in organic chem (1&2) and biology (1&2) at my CC. Also got B’s in Physics (1&2). One A and one B in gen chem series. BUT i got 3 C’s (precalc, calc 1&2). A in stats at CC. Transferred to UC Davis, straight A’s so far (physiology, biochem, cell biology, immunology, applied stats, genetics, and probably will continue to get straight A’s, i think UC Davis is a cakewalk).

Extra-curricular: While I was in community college and got my C’s, I was working full-time.

So since I started college I was a full-time Emergency Department Technician (EMT certified, phlebotomy certified, ACLS, PALS, BLS certified; all together ~2,500 hours as ER Tech, extremely hands-on).

I also was CPR instructor for 6 of those months on top of ER tech (~300 hrs).

Volunteered at hospital for 610 hours

Part of Big Brother Big Sisters (i was a “Big” for a 9 year old from a disadvantaged family) for 80 hours.

315 hours of research, submitted for publication

80 hours UCI Summer Pre-Medical Program, Mentor to high school students

I’ve done about 20 hours of volunteering with homeless people (food serving)

Shadowing: 60 hours abroad, 40 hours in US

And currently im working at UC Davis Medical Center 24 hours a week in the Burn ICU (also very hands-on, so still racking up hours)

At my CC I also mentored an international student for a year, and I was the secretary of our pre-health club for a year

What kind of schools do you think I should apply to? Here’s my list, so far, haven’t accounted for my MCAT score though:

University of florida.***

UC Davis***

University of Illinois***

Louisiana State ***

Tufts University***

Michigan State**

University of Minnesota***

Ohio State***

University of Pennsylvania***

Texas A&M***