What are my chances with these stats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

occam92

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on any forum! Kind of an odd experience, but here it goes!

DAT Scores:
PAT 21
QR 17
RCT 23
Bio 20
GC 20
OC 21
TS 20
AA 20

My sGPA is 3.22, oGPA is 3.33, and bscGPA is 3.24. BS is Biology.

I know these look low, but I was 2.99 coming out of community college and 3.56 coming out of undergrad (does that help me at all?) with Dean's Honors List. However, it is pretty daunting that people with 3.7s and 24aa's are complaining on this forum...if they can't get in, how can I?

Schools I'm applying to:
AZ, MWU, LLU, USC, WESTU, NSU, MWU-IL, TUF, and MYD

EC:
Hospital internship: 280 hours (LOR)
Dental lab waxer: 600 hours (for manual dexterity) (LOR)

Dentist Shadowing:
300 hours (LOR)

240 hours of undergraduate laboratory research

I have a committee packet including all of these activities with strong recommendations and a strong personal statement.

So the other issue is that my application is going to be finalized by Monday (10/31/16) which is quite late in the cycle for someone like me with average stats. Do I stand a chance or should I just count on applying early next cycle? Is there anything I can do to improve my chances (for this or next cycle)? The only way for my GPA to climb to 3.4 is to take 40 semester units of biology classes and get all A's which seems rather insane. Are they more interested in sGPA or bscGPA?

If I got a C in calculus I, is it worth my time and sanity to retake it? What is the difference between retaking something or just taking a new class if it just gets added as an independent grade anyways (no replacement)? Are there some very basic classes that they do not count? or anything with BIO, PHYS, or CHEM next to it is fair game for sGPA?

Please advise, thank you all for your time!

Members don't see this ad.