what are my chances of getting into a program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

min27

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm a 4th year DO student, and I plan on applying to every MD PM&R program out there, but I'm just wondering what my chances are at getting into a program.

I didn't take the USMLE, and my COMLEX scores aren't too great.
Level I - 460
Level II - 513
PE - Passed on 2nd try

Most of my evals from my 3rd yr rotations are pretty good, few are mediocre, but I received 2 pretty bad evals.

I have 2 poster presentations with my name on them, but I don't have any research or publications.

I have 2 pm&r rotations coming up and I plan on working my butt off,
but are my chances of getting into a program pretty slim?
And do most schools have a minimum required score to apply?

Any input will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know how COMLEX translates into USMLE, so I can't make any comments on your scores (other than retaking PE, which I'm guessing is similar to CS, is probably a red flag). The "pretty bad evals" could hurt you quite a bit--while it's not all that uncommon to get an average eval, my understanding is it's quite uncommon to get a bad evaluation.

Still, I've known people with failed Step 1's that got into good programs. I don't see why it might not be possible for you, especially if you impress people at the programs you're rotating at. I would work with the assumption that they might be your only options, so do everything you can to impress the faculty and residents at the program. That doesn't just mean working hard, but also having fun/getting along with those you work with (at least that seems to be pretty important at most PM&R programs...) Still, work hard--show the program you want to be there! I'm just trying to say, make sure to make connections with those in the program.