Medical What are my chances of acceptance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an MPH student planning on applying to medical school this cycle. My sGPA from undergrad is low and my clinical volunteering hours are also on the lower side due to the pandemic. What would be my chances for an acceptance at the following if I apply mid June?
  • DO schools
  • Schools like WVU, OSU, NEOMED, USCSOM
  • More competitive schools like Pittsburgh (in state)

Here is a summary of my application:

27 years old, ORM

MCAT: 514, will retake soon

MPH, Expected 2022
  • Great program
  • GPA: 4.0
  • Have tried to take more challenging coureswork (ex. upper level biostatistics)
BS in an Engineering Discipline, 2018
  • GPA: 3.02
  • sGPA: 2.77
  • C's in six science prereqs
  • D in one prereq
Work Experience:
  • 1.75 years as an engineer after undergrad
Clinical Volunteering
  • 100 hours of clinical volunteering - ongoing - will be around 130 by time of application in June
Non-clinical Volunteering
  • 600 hours as a camp counselor (multiple summers)
  • 30 hours of non-clinical COVID-19 hospital volunteering - ongoing
  • 45 hours of non-clinical hospital volunteering in pathology
  • 35 hours volunteering at a food bank - ongoing
No research experience (no publications or presentations) but I will be doing a public health internship this summer and starting a research project later this summer.

Decent LORs and a good committee letter

Basic proficiency in Spanish

Very interested in primary care (FM or pediatrics) and rural health

I would greatly appreciate any feedback. Thank you.
I'm sorry, you're not ready. The MPH is not helpful for applying to med school, and your GPA is just too low. Either start a post-bacc or do an SMP. Even if you were in a better spot academically, you don't have enough clinical volunteer hours--minimum is 150 hours.