What are my chances -- Hopeful Humanitarian

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrSailorMoon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I graduated with my B.S. in Biology in 2012 from UT Austin. My GPA at the time was a 2.27.

I was pre-med in undergraduate, but I wasn't serious about it. I had no idea what I wanted to do in life, and studied biology because I loved it. Both my parents are immigrants: my dad didn't finish college and my mom didn't finish high school. Their only advice to me was "be a doctor," without any practical guidance, and so it was easy after a certain point to just throw everything away and focus on being happy. I went through a lot of personal transformations in undergraduate.

My plan after college was to work at a National Park or get some other environmental job. But then a lot of things changed. For one, I'm Syrian, and suddenly a lot of things became serious, fast. After graduating, I joined the Syrian American Council and did a lot of leadership work within my community, but ultimately wound up going back to school to finish my pre-med requirements. I spent another year in undergrad and came out with better grades, which pushed my overall cumulative gpa to a 2.46.

Then I took the old MCAT and scored a 29 (VR 9 Physics 9 Bio 11). I was miserable during this time because of everything that was happening in the news, and how I knew no one in my community was responding. For the sake of my own mental health, I took a break from pursuing medicine and went back to work on Syria-related issues.