What are my chances for PA school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ak1339

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a senior biochemistry student graduating in May with an anticipated GPA of 3.3. I also just graduated paramedic school which I did at another school but simultaneous to my college studies. Throughout all of this, I have worked part time for two years now as an EMT in the city near my school (which opened the door for paramedic school for me).

Many of my classmates are getting accepted into PA schools and it's making me worry about what kind of chances I'll have when I apply, so I want to get a good idea of how to proceed during my gap year (whether to continue trying for PA or go for something else). I know a competitive GPA is at least 3.6, and that mine doesn't really stack up to that. One of the big reasons for me becoming a paramedic was to differentiate myself from my classmates (most of whom are using scribing as their HCE). As a result of the path I decided to take, my GPA has taken a bit of a hit, but I know that I've gained some invaluable experience in return. My hope is that schools will appreciate more of what I've done at this age and look less on my GPA. I just turned 21 and I am proud that I get to graduate at this age as a paramedic with a biochemistry degree, but I just hope I didn't make the wrong move by not focusing more on grades like everyone else. What are your thoughts on my chances?

Members don't see this ad.