Other What are my chances for matching

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medgraduate

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Doctors . My situation is complicated but I hope you guys can help me out . I am non American Carribean Medical graduate. Did all my clinical rotations in the USA when I was a medical student
YOG: 2014
All my steps were on 1 attempt
Step1: 226 step 2ck :223. Step 3: I blew it . I wrote in 2015 when the passing score was 190. I barely passed with 195 . I wish I can rewrite it
After 4 attempts of residency applications in the USA without success, I returned to my home country Canada to work as a Medical Assistant in a Family Practice . I do have a strong burning desire to still pursue my dreams as a family doctor and don’t see myself doing anything else . I don’t feel fulfilled working as an assistant and I am considering applying again this year but I am afraid to face the same problems I did previously. Please what are your thoughts. Any input will be appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Dear medgraduate, I would say never give up. Your scores are decent and if you have contacts you will match and work hard. I have friends who matched this year after trying for 5 years. So I know there is hope. I know a group of people joined Usmle Sarthi and they guided them to match. I don’t know if that would help. But don’t give up.

Reactions: 1 user
Dear medgraduate, I would say never give up. Your scores are decent and if you have contacts you will match and work hard. I have friends who matched this year after trying for 5 years. So I know there is hope. I know a group of people joined Usmle Sarthi and they guided them to match. I don’t know if that would help. But don’t give up.
Thank you very much.

Members don't see this ad :)