Western University Housing Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karlee83

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an out of state student, and so, I am obviously clueless when it comes to housing in the area! I am sure I am not the only new student wondering "where am I going to live?" ;)

So I thought we should start a forum to get our questions answered by our future peers!

Here are my questions:

(1) Is student housing worth it (ex. the Helix)?

(2) Is Pomona a safe area to live? What parts of Pomona would you recommend?

(3) Where do most students choose to live?

(4) What other areas around/outside Pomona would you suggest to look for an apartment?

(5) What do you think about living alone vs. finding a vet student roommate?

(6) What about commuting to campus? Is it difficult? Public Transportation vs. personal transportation?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am an out of state student, and so, I am obviously clueless when it comes to housing in the area! I am sure I am not the only new student wondering "where am I going to live?" ;)

So I thought we should start a forum to get our questions answered by our future peers!

Here are my questions:

(1) Is student housing worth it (ex. the Helix)?

(2) Is Pomona a safe area to live? What parts of Pomona would you recommend?

(3) Where do most students choose to live?

(4) What other areas around/outside Pomona would you suggest to look for an apartment?

(5) What do you think about living alone vs. finding a vet student roommate?

(6) What about commuting to campus? Is it difficult? Public Transportation vs. personal transportation?

Thanks!
Hey there,
1., 2. the helix is very small and expensive, and Pomona, is not a nice place to live. Stay as far north of the 10 freeway as you can afford.
3.4., Most students live in Upland, or Claremont, much nicer areas