Western U MSMS 2016-2017

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OfficialPluot

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anyone turn in their completed app yet?

Members don't see this ad.

For MSMS alumni, how helpful was this program in preparing you for medical school? Would you still have done it even if you could have gotten into COMP without it? I ask because my G.P.A. is about average for COMP matriculants, but I graduated from college 5 years ago. I'm retaking a handful of classes postbac, while working full time, but I can't help but feel like the intensity of the 1st year of medical school will be a huge shock for me. I'm wondering if the MSMS will ease my transition and better prepare me for OMS1 and eventually boards, enough to be worth the extra debt. For background, I'm interested in primary care, but I want to be the best doctor I can possibly be.

Last edited:
Working through my application now and aiming to submit in the next 1-1.5 weeks. I attended Preview Day and loved the school. My personal statement is probably what took the most amount of time and thought. How much of your statements did you guys dedicate specifically to explaining why you are interested in this program specifically?

Members don't see this ad :)
Considering applying for this program. Do they consider your GPA as the averages of all your classes or based off replacements like AACOMAS?

For MSMS Alumni, can you please shed some light on your experience in this program? What is the rigor like? How many hours of studying do you put in? Out of your class, how many matriculated into the DO program? What is living in Pomona like, etc.

I'm attending Western's Preview day on November 21st, anyone else? :)

I'm going.

App is in.

Now we play the waiting game...

I sent my app in as well. Waiting on docs to be processed. Western is my #1 but they rejected me post-secondary this year