Weird URM app? WAMC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kolikotime

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my background is a bit unusual which is why I posted this thread. I want to know if I should throw MD schools into my application strategy. I'm a Ghanaian American(immigrated to the US when I was 4) from the Northeast who is a career changer. I am 27 and grew up largely as a DACA/Undocumented student, but have in the past two years received permanent residence. I finished a one year DIY postbacc last May and rather than rush the process I took the summer months to grind out for the MCATs and get more clinical exposure, I'm sure I'll be ready to apply come May/June for both DO and MD schools.

GPA - 3.65 uGrad, 3.8 in PostBacc; 3.1 sGPA for AMCAS; 3. 7 sGPA for AACOMAS

The difference in my sGPA comes down to a disastrous Calculus class I took back in sophomore year that murdered my GPA, a class which I failed.

MCAT - 517

Work History - Out of college I launched into a fascinating career in the startup world. From 24 to 26 I worked at a well known AI startup that was doing some seriously cool stuff with medical pattern recognition in a non-technical role. I can't say more but I was involved in discussions of some seriously cool stuff at major hospitals and healthcare companies, all involving the applications of machine learning. Its this experience that got me brought into a medical career.

Clinical ECs - 250 hours of volunteering at hospitals; ER and Stroke Center
60 hours of shadowing three DO physicians; DO Anesthesiologist, two DO IM generalists.

Non Clinical ECs -Three years serving as treasurer of college's Model Congress
On/off Habitat for Humanity member in College(65 hours)
Board member of my local church