Want Other Pre-Hospital Provider Opinions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medforthefuture

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been presented with the opportunity to either work as an EMT with a local EMS service, or to work as an EMT in the Emergency Department at a local hospital. I have been an EMT on a volunteer basis with several clinic and disaster response organizations in the past few years, and really love the field (Although I know that I still want to go further with med school). As of right now, I have completed 2.5 years of undergrad.

My internal debate is this:
Working with the EMS service (ambulance) provides an opportunity to attend their paramedic academy at no cost, and with no strings other than a 2 year commitment post-graduation. I am toying with this idea as it would show commitment to a job (something I am lacking) on applications, and would provide me with a good salary with which to finish up school and have some in my pocket for amcas applications, moving costs, etc.

However, the hospital job pays better, and as it would seem, is not one of those "ED Tech" jobs- they actually hire you as an EMT. Job description sounds like they give you a lot of cool training; albeit the description also sounds like they want a low-paid nurse. Of course, I realize the benefits of being able to associate with the Docs and Nurses, as well as the association with the hospital.

See, what makes this difficult is my situation- I recently moved rather far from home and my old school to care for an ailing family member. I ended up meeting my future wife, and to top it all off, I left school with a drowning G.P.A. due to circumstances truly beyond my control.