WAMC/Pls help with school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Determined2024

Reaction score
I am a Texas resident, male, age 25, and URiM (Hispanic). I have a BS from a T10 University and an MS from a SMP program associated with a T25 medical school. I am currently scribing for two surgeons. I applied unsuccessfully in the 23-24 cycle and was told that my school list was too aggressive and that I needed to apply earlier. I got the second part covered, but I am still struggling with which AMCAS & DO schools to put on my "realistic school list." Please help.
  1. Undergrad: cGPA 3.4 and sGPA 3.3 (Biology/Microbiology). Strong upward trajectory of 2.84, 2.83, 3.45. 3.89.
  2. Graduate: cGPA 4.0 and sGPA 4.0 (Physiology)
  3. MCAT: 509 (228 Chem/125 CARS/130 BIO/126 PSY).
  4. Clinical experience - volunteer: worked in two different children's hospitals (300 hours)
  5. Clinical experience - non-volunteer: I worked one summer as a medical assistant at a community clinic in an underserved community (400 hours); currently working as a FT scribe (1,500 hours to date)
  6. Research experience: I worked in two wet labs both involving biomedical engineering projects (700 hours); one project resulted in a publication in which I am listed as a second author.
  7. Shadowing experience: I have shadowed 3 MDs and 1 DO in the following practice areas anesthesiology, orthopedics, ophthalmology, and OB/GYN.
  8. Non-clinical volunteering: I am currently volunteering at a homeless shelter with 1:1 contact with the residents
  9. Teaching: during my second year in grad school I was selected to TA the incoming first year class.
  10. Honors or awards: 4 year University scholarship during college.
  11. I am semi-fluent in Spanish and plan to take a class in Medical Spanish.
MD schools currently on my list (Note: I would be a re-applicant at the schools I underscored):