WAMC: OSU?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jenny1021

Reaction score
Hello, I'm currently a 22 year old undergrad in my last semester hoping to apply for the 2021-2022 cycle. I'm applying this year because I needed the gap year to continue gaining more experience and saving up for the transition. I plan on only applying to OSU, maybe Ross (they partner with my school), because I fell in love with their program when I visited - I am also in Ohio, so the in-state intuition would be amazing for me. If I don't get in this year, I plan to re-apply.

Current cumulative GPA: 3.42
Science GPA: Not calculated since I'm not exactly sure how schools calculate them, but it's not the best (a lot of C+s and Bs, some As)
Last 30 credit hour GPA: Still not sure how my spring GPA will turn out, but my fall semester was 4.0

Vet experience:
I currently work at an animal shelter as a vet assistant. I will have ~900 hours by the time I submit my application.
I've shadowed a small animal private practice for 40 hours.

Animal experience:
I volunteered at the current shelter I work at doing various non-veterinary related things for ~200 hours.
I worked at a pet store for over a year. I realize this may be questionable, but I calculated how many hours I spent SPECIFICALLY working with animals (cleaning cages, feeding, giving medication, etc) and it was ~500. I'd spend the last 1.5 hours of every shift doing the animal care.

I'm currently in the middle of contacting an equine vet, an emergency vet, and another small animal practice to get more experience over the summer before I apply. I hope to have at least 50 hours in each area by then, but it's touch-and-go because of COVID.

LOC:
Shelter veterinarian
Hopefully my writing in bio professor or the manager of the shelter I work at
Small animal veterinarian