WAMC NONTRAD 3.75/521 12 yrs since undergrad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ByzantineCandor

Reaction score
Hi SDN Community,

I am humbly asking for some honest advice and insight. I am 34 years old. Despite five attempts (yes, I know) to get into medical school starting in 2015, I have not been successful. I graduated from UC Berkeley back in 2012. My last MCAT score from August 2020 was 521 (98th percentile), and I have a GPA of 3.75. I also have a couple of second author publications and have interviewed at Duke, Rochester, UC Davis, Buffalo, and Rosalind Franklin. I was unable to secure a single interview in the last cycle, not even from lower-ranked schools. I applied the first week. I’ve had people review my essays. I also have a good amount of clinical shadowing and volunteering. I’ve been going at this since I was 18. I’m perseverant if anything and perhaps recklessly so.

I believe there are a few areas that may be holding me back. There are gaps in my resume, including a period I took to recover from severe depression, which I have openly disclosed. This experience has motivated my desire to become a psychiatrist and I believe makes for a more cogent and compelling narrative since my activities and experiences are all related to mental health. I’d definitely do much more interview prep.

On a positive note, since August 2021, I have been employed full-time by my county’s behavioral health department, which marks two years of service this coming August. This position has given me valuable experience and is a significant addition to my profile. For my job I do mental health trainings for the community as well as county employees. I also lead support groups, do 1-on-1 emotional support, and design mental health workshops.

I feel lost in life and it feels like some sort of clock is running out.

According to a previous AMCAS APP
BCPM GPA: 3.56
AO GPA: 3.82
Total: 3.72