WAMC Career Changer Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thebeaglelover

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am looking to apply to career changer post bacc pre-med programs this fall, but am unsure of the strength of my application and need some insight. I am a current Junior at a public university who will be a first semester senior upon application. I transferred here from an Ivy due to a chronic illness that became unmanageable (this is apart of my narrative), but I had a 4.0 there as well. I’m studying a humanities major that is bio-oriented, but I only have bio classes and no other med school pre-reqs (besides two statistics course, one 400-level). My SAT was low 1500s when I took it in 2018. As I am still in undergrad, I am not sure if I should apply right when applications open in August or wait until the end of fall semester in December. What are your thoughts? If I apply in August, I will have ~250 hours as an EMT in a rural area, ~150 hours clinical volunteering, some shadowing, ~400 hours autopsy internship under a forensic pathologist, ~300 hours non clinical volunteering (animal rescue, tutoring, sexual assault advocate), and some ECs related to my interests. Also, am I competitive for the top programs, like Goucher or Bryn Mawr? Any insight is appreciated. Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, it sounds like you're well qualified for the top postbacc programs. It is definitely better to apply sooner than later, as most programs begin reviewing applications far before the deadline and there are a limited number of spots. Unless you expect a significant or necessary boost in your GPA by the end of December, it's better to apply in August. Your clinical and volunteer hours look great! These programs definitely weigh your experiences heavily. And yes - you can include projected hours in the application, just make sure you extend the end date for your activities.