WAMC c/o2028 or 2029

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

couchpeach423

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I’m a 2nd-year pharmacy student wishing to pursue veterinary school. After volunteering at an exotic clinic for about a month I definitely felt a calling that this is the job I wanna do for my life. I dont mind the sunken costs of pharmacy school.

Assume that any debt/finance will not be a concern; I’m on a full scholarship at pharmacy school and my parents are willing to pay for the tuition if I do get into vet school. I also understand the average pay of vets and have realistic expectations. It's not about the money it's the career that fascinates me :)

23 yr female, Asian, Canadian (not US resident, no green card)

Degrees:

BA in Arts history, t20 university

PharmD candidate (mediocre pharmacy school in Massachusetts), P2 (second year)

Cum GPA undergrad: 3.25

Science GPA undergrad: around 3.5-3.6

Grad school GPA: 3.44

All prereqs taken except for an upper-level bio class

Vet experiences:

Volunteer/shadowed at the exotic vet for about 100 hours
(what should be the next step? kennel tech? keep volunteering? volunteer for bigger hospitals? would love any suggestions...)

Animal experience:

100hr at an animal shelter

50hr at a dog rescue

Research: ~ 1200 hours in total

1 chronic disease medication management research at a large academic hospital

Most likely no publications :/ I work with MDs and do clinical research focusing on the medication errors and over-treatment

1 research at a pharmaceutical start-up, writing grants and literature reviews (about sepsis) (no publication)

these are all human-related, not animal

GRE: 315 can definitely take again

Work: ~1000 hours of pharmacy intern (specialty meds, inpatient at a large hospital)