WAMC 1st time nontrad, career changer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eptesicusfuscus

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a current chemistry graduate PhD student looking to apply to vet school in the next 1-2 cycles. Strong interest in zoo, conservation vet med or equine. Would also be interested in working in nuclear medicine/diagnostic imaging since my current work is with PET imaging in humans. Both very far down the road, I understand.

I was pre-vet until my sophomore/junior year in UG, swapped paths to graduate school because I didnt think my application was worth it if I didn't have veterinary hours (which still makes me hesitant to apply now). Most of the reason for not getting additional experience in the past was related to needing to pay bills-- surprisingly my horse jobs were paying more then any clinics in the area.

Main concerns are with VMCAS GPA and veterinary hours. I have contacted every clinic in my area, even venturing out east to the Hamptons (>1h away) to contact vets and clinics for shadowing opportunities (SA, exotics, pocket pets) and I've applied to several veterinary assistant positions. If I got one of the VA jobs I would master out that same semester, but until then I need healthcare and to pay for bills :') I'm planning on contacting the aquarium and wildlife rescues for volunteer positions, but have already reached out once or twice so it feels kind of hopeless.

Based on the VMCAS excel sheet I would need to take (and ace) 5 four credit courses to bump my GPA above a 3.2. Based on the cost of courses and degree programs I would basically need a straight A masters program on top of vet school. Plus it would just average out any repeat classes I've taken before. It just feels like a lose-lose to try and fix my GPA.

NY resident

Cumulative GPA:
3.12 (VMCAS), 3.3 undergrad and grad
science GPA: 2.98 w/o grade replacement, 3.28 w/grade replacement
last 45: 3.6