Waitlisted at 3 schools, what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Whitecoat33

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been wait-listed at three schools and I am preparing for the worst scenario at the moment for a reapplication. I am currently in my last semester of undergraduate and I have a 3.92 cpga/3.91 sgpa at a rank 30-40 university. I have strong letters and EC's, and believe that there is not much lacking in terms of that, but I assume my application is weak due to my low MCAT score of 497 (128/121/124/124). I plan to retake the MCAT in May and go for a reapplication because it feels like hope is lost with these schools. I know that there is a lot of movement in May/June, but I should not rely on that right? I've seen many threads saying not to send a letter of interest/intent, but do you think it would be okay to send one?

Mainly I would like some input on reapplying, I have not applied to any MD's so my plan is to submit my primary application to a throwaway school in early June since I wont know my MCAT score, just to be verified. Should I do the same with AACOMAS and send my primary to a throwaway school, and then send my primary to all schools once I receive my new MCAT, as I would not want to be screened out due to my low CARS section at some schools.

Thank you for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I think you’ve got a solid plan, and I think your self-assessment is accurate!

That said, it’s srill entirely possible that you could get pulled off a wait list! Don’t lose hope, but *do* plan on reapplying until you have an accept.

If you can get a high MCAT, though, your options will probably be a lot stronger the second time around!

Reactions: 1 users
I think you’ve got a solid plan, and I think your self-assessment is accurate!