This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heymickey

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I have a bit of a dilemma. I'm currently a sophomore volunteering at a food bank/soup kitchen as well as working in a psychology research lab. I love volunteering at the food bank while I don't really like my research lab. I do a lot of grunt work (data filing, transcribing, etc), nothing mentionable.

Should I quit the research lab and dedicate that time to something I enjoy like my volunteering? If I quit the research lab, I won't put it on my application, since I've only been doing it for a couple of weeks, and I'd try to join another one by December, but one that I can actually do important stuff in. I also work as a scribe 18 hrs/week.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Quit your research lab and join a new one. As you've only spent a few weeks, it's a good time to jump ship. Just make sure there aren't any loose ends and you leave on good terms. I see you're also considering food bank volunteering. Just make sure you're not overwhelming yourself come the new school year. Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user
Hey everyone, I have a bit of a dilemma. I'm currently a sophomore volunteering at a food bank/soup kitchen as well as working in a psychology research lab. I love volunteering at the food bank while I don't really like my research lab. I do a lot of grunt work (data filing, transcribing, etc), nothing mentionable.

Should I quit the research lab and dedicate that time to something I enjoy like my volunteering? If I quit the research lab, I won't put it on my application, since I've only been doing it for a couple of weeks, and I'd try to join another one by December, but one that I can actually do important stuff in. I also work as a scribe 18 hrs/week.