Volunteer Experience Before Direct Entry PMHNP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

likeaplanet

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I've been considering applying to a few direct entry PMHNP programs next fall. I graduated with my BS in Psychology a few years ago and had originally planned on applying for Health Psychology PhD programs. I did well in school and on the GREs and think I would have been a competitive applicant but never quite felt passionate enough to go for it. After college I worked in a group home for adults with developmental disabilities for about three years where we would do med passes, charting, and take behavioral notes, as well as just trying to provide the best quality life for everyone who lived there. Besides that the bulk of my experience has been as a research assistant for various psych PIs, in cognitive and clinical psychology labs. I would love to get more experience that could help me decide if the PMHNP route is really the path for me but I've had trouble finding volunteer opportunities or entry level jobs that are related or would give me exposure to working around NPs. Does anyone any have advice on how to get this experience? How did everyone learn about the profession besides scouring SDN and the allnurses forums?

Also, if anyone has been through a direct entry NP program, what was the range of experience that you or your classmates had before coming into the program?

Looking forward to hearing any advice!

Members don't see this ad.