Vertebral Augmentation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PinchandBurn

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys-

I'm an Interventional Pain Physician. I work rather closely with IR guys. We have 'conferences' and hash through some imaging,etc.

I however wanted to finese my ability to read MRIs a bit. Namely to recognize facet hypertrophy, bulging discs,etc both in the cervical spine and the Lumbar. Is there a good book that you can recommend....maybe 'something for dummies'. Or does your societies have a 'MRI reading workshop" that I could attend?

Also...finally about reading MRs prior to vertebral Augmentation. One of our Radiologists is mroe of a 'cowboy' and the other guys is more conservative. For excample, one of the guys will call it a compression fx, the other a 'compression deformity'....Any suggstions on how I could start to read my own MRIs in regards to edema on T2s so that I could ask the right questions,etc. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

This is really a forum for medical students and residents interested in interventional radiology.

And no offense, but why do you think it would be that easy for you to learn how to read lumbar MRIs if you are not a radiologist? Radiologists go through five years of residency and additional fellowship training to learn diagnostic imaging. But to answer your question, I am not aware of any "easy workshops" or "dummies" books to learn how to interpret MRIs. Perhaps your own society(s) would be a better resource to find shortcuts to looking at MRIs.

I think it's totally fine for other specialties to come on here and ask questions.