Venting ... just at a cross roads

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stellamaris

Reaction score
I am writing from a place of utter desperation , darkness and disappointment . I am a third year resident in a good IM program not the best but far better than most . I suck at everything

Many many days I feel like I know nothing , I can’t come up with a good plan. I have difficulty synthesizing the information quickly enough. I can’t recognize turn subtle turn in events. My organizational skills suck. I am failing miserably in life right now.

My work life has been taking a hit for the longest. The only reason i am still in residency is because people realize I work hard and I am in general a nice person . So I am the sympathy resident , which in and of itself is crushing to my soul . My interns don’t look up to me, they challenge my decisions or question my decisions. Sometimes they say it , sometime it is unspoken but felt. What I say carries no weight .

They gravitate to my 2nd years. My 2nd years never inform me or keep me in the loop like they do with the interns and each other , I guess my ****ed up ness have made me so minuscule in their eyes that I don’t even matter. I don’t think it is intentional but I am often fishing for what goin in , whereas others just casually update each other , and even nurses do the same.So when things happen I feel like I am a step behind . It is a vicious cycle of self doubt