Venous c02 and arterial pC02 inverse correlation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RNtoMD87

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
What would a worsening venous c02 while improving arterial pC02 indicate?

Chem profile says from 8/16-8/19 c02 trend from 31-42 mmol/L

Meanwhile, the initial ABG indicates 86mmHg pC02 on 8/16 and 69.4mmHg pC02 on 8/17 after a regimen of Lasix and BIPAP ventilation.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It indicates that the patient's metabolic alkalosis worsened from diuresis (contraction alkalosis, loss of chloride), while his respiratory acidosis got better.

Reactions: 1 user
Thank you. I'm a stepdown nurse, and this is something we didn't go too indepth with at school.

Appreciate the knowledge. His potassium is still doing well thankfully.

Members don't see this ad :)
“CO2” on a basic metabolic panel is a misnomer - it actually refers to bicarbonate (HCO3). The pCO2 on a blood gas (arterial or venous) is the partial pressure of carbon dioxide. They are not the same

Reactions: 1 users
“CO2” on a basic metabolic panel is a misnomer - it actually refers to bicarbonate (HCO3). The pCO2 on a blood gas (arterial or venous) is the partial pressure of carbon dioxide. They are not the same

Actually it's not a misnomer as the way in which the test is run in the lab (or at least how it was run back in the day, methods have probably improved), results in the conversion of HCO3 to CO2 which is then ultimately measured on the assay. I don't know the specific mechanism of this test to be honest though. Never really cared that much to look it up.

Second important point is that blood gas machines only calculate the "bicarb" based on the pH and the PCO2, so that is not an actual number.

Darn, I was hoping this was going to be a venous pCO2 vs. an arterial pCO2 thread. . . . . . .
Hah we could make one. I’d still learn a lot.