Valsartan+enalapril for CHF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DarkProtoman

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Yes, I'm a lowly pre-med posting on the cardiology forum...I respect you awesome cardiologists, esp. you interventional cardiologists and electrophysiologists.

Here's my question: For the purposes of this question, I'm an categorical internal medicine resident. A 30yr patient is in moderate-to-severe CHF, w/ an ejection fraction of 33.333%, a stroke volume of 46.667ml, a cardiac output of 5600.04, and a pulse pressure of 27mmHg. I prescribe valsartan and enalapril, b/c recent research shows that combining a angiotensin II receptor antagonist w an ACE inhibitor is more effective then using either alone. The pharmacy doses it. Now, w/ his/her stats, would it be time to consult a cardiothoracic surgeon to install a LVAD, add digoxin to his medication regimen, or something else?

Thanks!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Um, I'm asking you guys to help me solve my imaginary clinical scenario. That shouldn't be too hard. Or is my scenario not realistic. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad :)
What are you doing?

I was researching heart failure in my old textboot --a general internal mdicine text my Dr friend gave me as a gift--, and I was wondering what the proper treatment of a heart failure w/ these specific stats would be? Should a positive inotope like oral dobutamine be added? Thanks!

Yes, I'm a lowly pre-med posting on the cardiology forum...I respect you awesome cardiologists, esp. you interventional cardiologists and electrophysiologists.