UVA or UPitt undergrad premed?

IDKwhatmynameshouldbe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I may be on the wrong forum but oh well:

So I'm considering between UVA and UPitt for undergrad. Fir Upitt total costs is around 23k while UVA is around 59k after financial aid and scholarships. I know for a fact I want to be a doctor, so which school is better for premed? Which one has higher acceptance rates into MD med schools(not Caribbean)? Also money is a huge factor for me because I don't want to be in too much debt.

Also, I'm an EMT and would like to continue it in college, but it seems neither school has a local EMS squad for undergrad students.

Members don't see this ad.

I think you should have posted in the high school section? But I'm not certain.

I think both are good, well-reputed schools that should set you up well for medical school, provided you put in the work.

If money is a big factor, then I think the answer is pretty obvious (Pittsburg).

I think both are good, well-reputed schools that should set you up well for medical school, provided you put in the work.

If money is a big factor, then I think the answer is pretty obvious (Pittsburg).

Thanks for the reply. I'm looking for some more specifics about the schools, though. There isn't much information online about the reputations of premed for these schools, so hard facts and statistics, or previous experiences and specific opinions, would be better.

Also, since I have 30+ AP credits, do you think med schools would look down upon skipping a year of college? Also, I didn't mention I made Honors college for Upitt.

Members don't see this ad :)
Both schools are very good. Equivalent in most regards. Choose what you like

Don't use AP credit. Take the courses and get As