USMLE directly?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agrimond

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a foreign student, and have just gotten a BS at a major US university.

I wonder if it's possible to study directly for and take the USMLE stages without the intervening medical school years.

After all, this makes sense for me. I have two and a half years of work authorisation ahead of me, thanks to OPT regulations. Most medical schools won't admit me or require 4 years of tuition in advance in escrow. I'd rather not be indebted for the ridiculous sums of tuition needed. Foreign candidates can study for and take the USMLE directly. And I derive little benefit from either the formal structure or community nature of university education.

I'm not really interested in replies discouraging me merely because this is difficult. I know it is. I just want to know if there's anything I should take into account in my calculation. Can I apply to residency programmes directly with the USMLE? Is there any real reason for going to medical school? Have people done this sort of thing before? Is there anything in the totality of the medical school experience that I cannot reproduce on my own? (The practical bits don't worry me; I can make up for them either by shadowing or by going back to Wales for access to things like anatomy or pathology labs.)

Thanks,
Adrian Grimond

Members don't see this ad.

I have wondered the same thing myself. I poked around a bit and it seems like the short answer is that you are not eligible to register for the USMLE Step 1 exam unless you meet certain criteria according to the ECFMG (http://www.ecfmg.org/) which determines whether foreign medical school graduates and students are eligible to take the USMLE.

2. Why would I want to be certified by the ACGME?