use 2 different repayment plans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drdarling16

Inquiring minds...
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So this is probably a stupid question....

Like many here, I have a huge student loan debt, and many of them don't qualify for the REPAYE plan (unsubsidized, FFEL?). I was playing around with the repayment estimator and I found that about half of my loans qualify for it and half of them don't. Is there a way to use REPAYE on some loans and then IBR on the others? Loans around 270k with average 7.2 interest rate.

Also, how do you go about consolidating loans? I'm a psychiatry intern and I'm sure there are many jobs out there with loan forgiveness after residency, but I don't know if I should count on that. I know this topic has been discussed ad nauseam, but any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I agree with DrMidline--consolidate the FFEL loans into the direct loan program, then you can enter REPAYE for all your loans. I'm not sure if you can actually have two repayment programs, so my guess is you'd have to use IBR if you don't.

If you've been making payments for a few years and are hoping for PSLF, then you need to think about things more carefully, as you'll lose all the eligible payments made on any loans consolidated as you now have a new loan.

I wouldn't count on any loan forgiveness, but hopefully something will be around, whether PSLF (unsure), or job-related (if it's in your contact, then that's the best since then you can count on it!). I think job-related payback programs (remember those are taxable as income) are getting more and more popular, so many jobs you apply for will have some loan payback programs. I just wouldn't count too much on them--maybe your job offers a bit, maybe none, but you won't know until you have an offer in your hand. And who knows what will happen with PSLF.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for your replies,