USC vs UCSF?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

julesc76

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone, i've been checking out this forum for the past 3 months but never posted. first of all, i wanted to say a big THANKS since everyone was really helpful. it made me feel waaaay less nervous for my interviews :D

secondly, i'm personally having a hard time deciding btwn USC and UCSF. i went to the USC welcoming night yesterday, and they were very convincing. i guess my main concerns right now are:

1) how much will the tuition at UCSF go up? and will it continue going up each yr?

2) is it hard to get a summer internships or post-grad job in the LA/OC area if you go to UCSF?

it seems as if USC has a power network down here in LA and it's hard for the up north schools to get job opportunities down here. some of my 1st yr friends at UCSF are having a hard time getting LA/OC summer internships and might have to go for an unpaid one in LA or stay up north for the summer.

personally, i want to be able to get paid summer internships down in the LA/OC area since my family lives nearby. are there any 3rd/4th yrs that can help me out? :confused:

i would like to hear anyone else's general opinions or comments too. thanks! :)

Members don't see this ad.

If you choose ucsf, which would be a huge mistake ;), you can still secure a summer position in LA if you start early enough. My advice would be to start talking to prospective pharmacies before you leave for school in sf, so you can continue rapping w/them thru the year and then you'd wanna start applying winter break of your first year for those positions. It's a lot easier at SC bc the chains have all day interviews on campus, but there's always a way. Find out who the District managers are for areas you're interested in and start talking to them now!!! You'll have to do a little more legwork, but it's certainly do-able. Good luck!!