USC vs. Columbia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted988177

Hey guys, please help me decide whether USC or Columbia. I'm now studying in up-state New York, where have snow storms every year.

I want to go to USC because of the warm weather and plenty of fun things to do. And the patient pool is big there. Obviously, the tuition is VERY expensive. My family is very supportive and tell me not to worry about whichever school I choose. But I hope to be independent and not to create too much burden for them. I love the PBL during the interview day, but I've also heard someone said PBL doesn't teach much things compared with traditional lectures.

However, almost everyone includes my parents and my best friend told me to go Columbia because of its IVY League name and the high specialization rate.(not sure whether to specialize til now) I know Columbia is definitely more well-known and have high quality. But I'm sick of the cold weather in Eastern area and don't like the location of CDM (168 street is not that safe)

So anyone who's currently enrolled in USC or Columbia can give me more information about these two schools? (pros/cons, curriculum, PBL, taking class with Med)Thanks very much !!!

Quote Reply
Report Edit

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys, please help me decide whether USC or Columbia. I'm now studying in up-state New York, where have snow storms every year.

I want to go to USC because of the warm weather and plenty of fun things to do. And the patient pool is big there. Obviously, the tuition is VERY expensive. My family is very supportive and tell me not to worry about whichever school I choose. But I hope to be independent and not to create too much burden for them. I love the PBL during the interview day, but I've also heard someone said PBL doesn't teach much things compared with traditional lectures.