US Student Hoping to Study in Ireland?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kojii

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a high school student in Hawaii- wanting very much so to pursue a medical degree as well as practice outside of the US.

How feasible is it to transition directly from US high school to a 5-6 year Irish medical program? What do most Americans tend to do? What's daunting to me is the idea of diving straight into a MBBS program considering that in the US I would normally spend four years as an undergraduate before even applying to med school. What is the extent of preparation (as far as fundamentals) of Irish high school students entering the programs compared to that of Americans?

It's my understanding that due to differences in our education systems- students in Ireland entering medical schools have already studied higher level courses (A levels? Or is that just in UK?) that an American student would learn in pre-med undergraduate school. Would I be better off getting a bachelor's degree in the states before going to Ireland because of this?

just trying to piece it all together to figure out if a transition from my small island to a considerably larger one is possible for me ~

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a high school student in Hawaii- wanting very much so to pursue a medical degree as well as practice outside of the US.

How feasible is it to transition directly from US high school to a 5-6 year Irish medical program? What do most Americans tend to do? What's daunting to me is the idea of diving straight into a MBBS program considering that in the US I would normally spend four years as an undergraduate before even applying to med school. What is the extent of preparation (as far as fundamentals) of Irish high school students entering the programs compared to that of Americans?