US grads using NBEO in Canada (BC)

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dordy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

So I’m in my 4th year in a US optometry school wanting to return home to Ontario to work.

I really don’t want to pay 6,000 dollars to take the OEBC when the NBEO can be used as it’s equivalent in BC and Montreal and is required to graduate anyways.

Can somebody please help me figure out what Ontario’s requirements are for transferring a licence from BC I literally can’t find It anywhere.

This post will hopefully shed some light and help many other Canadian ods come home to practice .
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey Dordy,

I've been digging deep for these answers for a few weeks now, but it's definitely not an easy find! I'm a third year in the US planning to only write the NBEO and practice in BC after graduation. A few friends and I found the Optometry Act for Ontario, but the wording is not the clearest. As I see it, there doesn't seem to be a time frame of how long someone needs to practice in another province before applying for an Ontario license. However, if you are applying after 3 years, then you do have to meet other requirements.

Here's the link: ww.ontario.ca/laws/regulation/930837
(I'm unable to post a link apparently, so I intentionally dropped one 'w' to be able to post this!)

I could have gotten this entirely wrong, so if you figure it out, please share!

Hey Dordy,