This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pre-Discovery

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore and have recently switched from Biology to Pre-Physical Therapy. Despite my decent grades (As-B+s), I feared my upper level Biology classes, as I thought I didn't have much interest in most of them, and didn't want a bad GPA. I was especially affected by my Genetics lecture and Organic Chem lab... I switched to Pre-PT because I like the idea of rehab; although I'd prefer the idea of OT more, PT pays better. I don't have any close personal connection to PT, and while I try to stay healthy, I'm no bodybuilder or major athlete. I'm fine with hard classes and I work hard, but if I don't like the material I stress out way too much (what happened last semester). I did find Organic Lecture to be very interesting, and while I only got a B+, it was likely because of the stress associated with the other classes.

Should I have made the switch? I felt so stressed out and overwhelmed between Organic Lab and Genetics lecture. I'm rarely a fan of laboratory work, and I'm not too fond of research, so I've leaned towards healthcare. I originally had Optometry in mind when I majored in Biology, and had started to look around for Optometry shadowing opportunities. I still very much like Optometry, but I fear a bad GPA will ruin me. The overall went down to a 3.687, but should I continue with Pre-PT, I believe it will go up to a 3.8+. It's possible for me to go back to Biology, but only after this semester (and a bunch of paperwork). Although I might fall a little farther behind, I was already a semester ahead with transfer credits.