Unsupportive parent

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nocturnius

Resident Cynic
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this belongs here, but we'll try.

I'm a student planning on entering into podiatry. I was raised in a very tight-knit family, and my parents' opinions and support are extremely important to me.

First, understand that my original career incentive was very different. I actually was originally going to be an art student. I wanted to be an interior designer. But after serious thought and consideration, I realized that wasn't what I really wanted to do. I think I chose it mainly because everyone said I should be some sort of professional artist/designer.

I realized what I really wanted to do was be a podiatrist. I actually did a hefty amount of research to make sure it was something I wanted to do. My friends, my fiancé, my (ex-)teachers and my dad were all very supportive of the decision. (My dad's exact words: "I think it's a fantastic idea.")

My mom, however, was not. It's even gone past the "unsupportive" level - she's been saying hurtful things like "I don't think you have the guts to handle surgery" and whenever the subject comes up she rolls her eyes and is suddenly completely uninterested. I don't know why, and I don't know what to do. I want her to be supportive so I don't feel stupid when I try to talk to her about it. I can openly talk to my dad about it, but she always wants to cut our conversations short when it's mentioned now.