Unnecessary spine surgeries on the rise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Why don't you just use this thread to post your side of the argument you were hoping to have?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm assuming this is a link to the article in Spine journal.

I'm a Physical Therapist, and I was just curious about the surgeons reaction to this? Obviously I'm for PT under certain (most) circumstances prior to going the surgery route, but understand that surgery in some cases is necessary and will eventually be required.

I think most surgeons agree that a trial of physical therapy and NSAIDS is prudent for most patients prior to surgery unless progressive neurological decline or cauda equina syndrome are present.

I can't read the article because the link is dead and I also don't know what kind of spine surgery they are referring to.

If it's the link to the article in the Spine Journal, then it's regarding spinal fusions.

But I would agree, I think PT should be given a chance if nothing else, even it is "believed" it will not work.

I couldn't tell you how many patients I've seen following a surgery that never did PT prior to the surgery, many of which did not report a significant amount of pain or any symptoms that may indicate the need for surgery right away, etc. Some of these patients actually were reporting a worsening of symptoms following surgery.

I couldn't tell you how many patients I've seen following a surgery that never did PT prior to the surgery, many of which did not report a significant amount of pain or any symptoms that may indicate the need for surgery right away, etc. Some of these patients actually were reporting a worsening of symptoms following surgery.