University of Sydney Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scilleroo

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

This post is for anyone who knows about the University of Sydney Grad-Entry Medical Program. If you are a current student, I am most interested in your viewpoints. I am an international student (American citizen from the USA) who was just accepted into the University of Sydney. I have a range of questions and would appreciate perspective:

-What do you think makes the University of Sydney program strong? What area most needs improvement? (In other words, what is not as strong)

-How often do you have examinations? What are they typically like?

-What determines which students (local and international students) get internship spots in Australia (in the big cities)? Performance during the 3rd and 4th year? Recommendations? PR status (or lack thereof?)

-Does U Syd have an anatomy course (with lab)? How long and thorough is it?

-Which courses do you think are the strongest and which the weakest?

-Do you do research in addition to your commitment as a student? If so, would you mind sharing a few words about it?

-Why isn?t there a required USMLE type exam for Australian graduates? How do they apportion internship and then residency placement, then?

-Why are Australian residencies particularly long (just curious if there is a certain philosophy that makes it longer)?

-What is the official difference between the MBBS degree and the MD degree? If you graduate from an Australian school and come back to the US to do your residency, what difference does the degree you earn have? (Would you need to apply to get an MD? I apologize if I sound ignorant about this, but it is unclear to me.) Is this degree difference something to be concerned about?