Unhappy in residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

magendie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I already posted this in the general residency forum but thought I might get some useful responses here too...

I am currently in my second year of neurology residency and am incredibly unhappy. I have felt this way for a while but I just attributed it to being overworked and sleep-deprived. However, I am now on a fairly easy rotation (8-4 pm hours, weekends off, no call) and still feel the same way. And it's not just that I am unhappy with residency in general, but I find that I no longer enjoy the practice of neurology. I find myself wondering during rounds why we are spending hours discussing trivial points that won't change the management of patients. I absolutely hate neurology clinic, especially the fact that I have to spend so much time talking with and examining the patients when I often don't have an answer for them and don't always have any treatments to offer them.
A little of my background and why these thoughts are bothering me so much... I majored in neuroscience in undergrad and specifically came to medical school with plans of becoming a neurologist. During my third year rotations, neurology was my favorite rotation and I had no doubts about going into the field. I didn't have exposure to certain other specialties such as dermatology and opthalmology until late in my fourth year unfortunately. I did do a short rotation in anesthesiology during my 4th year and while I enjoyed it, I was already set on applying to neurology residencies and felt that it was too late to change my decision. I applied and interviewed at many top programs and matched at a program fairly high on my list. I was unhappy during my intern year but this was expected since it was an internal medicine program at a very busy hospital with overworked residents.