Unfinished masters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arste

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

After reading your posts on and off for the past year, I finally feel brave enough to ask a question of my own. To make a long story short, I have been working for the past 6 years as a medical technologist at a large hospital. I have also spent the past two years taking (and now studying to retake) the MCAT, completing "recent coursework," getting an advisor, doing my homework on SDN, etc. all in preparation for my application. My big stumbling block, however, is how to deal with my unfinished master's degree. It was probably something I shouldn't have started in the first place. I was naive in thinking that it would help to earn me a spot in med school, plus the entire year was filled with problems (financial aid, family, etc.) I have finally decided (after 6 years!) that I will not let this loom over my head and future plans any longer, but now I am having trouble deciding how to move forward. My advisor thought I should contact the schools I am really interested in attending and get their thoughts on how I should proceed. I am concerned that this is the wrong time of year to contact admissions about this type of situation, but I also have to do something about this. Has anyone (or anyone you know) had a similar experience? Did you/they suck it up and finish the degree for the sake of finishing? I would have finished it off with a non-thesis route had it been available at the time. I would consider doing that now if it were possible and absolutely necessary for me to move forward. I'm 28 now, and so judging from this forum I have a little bit of time, but certainly not much. Thanks for listening!

Members don't see this ad.