Unexcused Test Absence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Plinko

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is really quite a bizarre situation I'm dealing with. One that I never would have thought I would encounter in medical school.

I'm a first year DO student. Earlier in the semester I missed a day of testing because I had the flu. Of the two exams I was suppose to have that day, I was only allowed to make up one. I went to the course directors for each class with a doctor's note saying I had been seen for "medical reasons" and that I was cleared to return to school the following the day. One course director had me make up his exam the next day. The other, if you can believe this, said that the doctor's note did not detail my illness and therefore I could not make the test up. He said to me, "for I allI know you had a PE and there was nothing wrong with you." I called my doctor's office and asked him to detail my illness for the course director and his secretary said they could not because of the new HIPPA act that recently took effect. They said they could only release that information to another physician who's care I was under. The class has ended, and after receiving a zero for the exam I have now officially failed. I went to an academic advisor at my school and she said "don't get sick." I then went to the other course director, the one who allowed me to take his test, and had him explain to the other course director that he allowed me to take the exam for his course and that there was no reason that he should not do the same. The stubborn idiot told him that it was not his call and that he should mind his own business. I tried my doctor's office one more time and actually spoke with the doctor. He said he would release the info is I signed a release form. I went with the info to the jerk off course director and he said it was too late now that the class was over.