Undergrad considering LOA for research & volunteering

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thr1932359

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

I've gone through the FAQs to see if I could find anything related to this situation but haven't found anything particularly specific.

I'm currently a sophomore undergraduate considering taking a leave of absence from school to do research and volunteering full-time after this school year (with most time being spent on research). The reason I am considering this is because I am on track to graduate in 3 years from a combination of AP / dual enrollment credits from high school, but would like to apply to enter an MSTP program in 2023 (so I'd apply Summer 2022).

My thinking is that while I could graduate in May 2022, I'd rather take the 2021-2022 school year (or part of it) to maximize the amount of time I have to do research and gain volunteering experience before I apply, and graduate in May 2023 instead.

Some context: >3.9 cGPA and sGPA as an engineering major at a T20, have finished all pre-health prerequisite courses and am planning to take the MCAT this Spring. I have been doing well on practice materials (including FLs) so far. I have some teaching assistant / grading experience for engineering classes at my university, and started undergraduate research this past semester working on a project that I will continue working on this upcoming Summer. I will have 90 semester units under my belt (not including AP credit) by the end of this semester, so I think I won't have to worry about being screened out for not having sufficient class units by application time should I choose to take an LOA.