Under qualified OMFS candidate looking for guidance or mentorship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ddsstudent2021

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a rising 4th year dental student and as of late have become interested in OMFS. Not man programs are offering externships right now because of COVID but I shadowed a lot of OMFS.

My problem: class rank... A lot of family issues occurred in dental school I am towards the bottom half of the top half. I graduated undergrad with highest honors so I know I have it in me to do well but a lot of things happened in school that were out of my reach.

I am looking for some sort of guidance as what I should do after dental school or even during my last year here. Should I apply for GPRs, internship, etc.? Do I even have a chance of getting OMFS in the future?

I have not took the CBSE and don't know if I should study for it this year and take it in February or just take it after my fourth year.

I am just looking for some guidance and maybe mentorship if there is anyone out there who was in a similar situation or can help.

Members don't see this ad.

The answers to a successful OMFS application are actually quite simple, from a Pre-Interview point of view

High GPA/Class Rank + High CBSE + Understanding of the rigors of residency/the field = Good candidate to interview

So whats lacking in one should be accounted for in another. In your case: poor class rank means you need to slaughter and make feast of that CBSE (75+ is your goal). Make up for that last bit of the equation with doing an intern year. 75+ with an intern year, and you will be golden.

Study every waking second you can and start emailing Program Directors for intern spots.

The question to ask yourself is: do you have what it takes?