Undecided - FM vs EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hey all,

Currently dual applied FM and EM, and still undecisive on which one I'm going to pick. I'm an MDSSP/STRAP Army Reserves student, so I'm committed to working one weekend a month/two weeks a year for the military once I'm done with residency. From what I've heard about EM, the weekends and night shifts really add up (2 weekends a month??) and I really enjoyed continuity clinic, so I'm leaning towards FM right now. My last itch that I can't let go of that I really did love the excitement from high acuity cases/codes/admissions. Because of that, I'm still unsure in my decision. In major Texas cities (Dallas, Austin, Houston, SA) would it be possible to still occasionally get that acuity in FM? I know hospitals favor IM, but would they take FM for per-diem swing/admitting shifts maybe?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It's a different way of approaching your answer, but decide which field will have fewer aggravations you'll have to deal with.

Both will have admin to deal with (ED probably more so), and circadian rhythm issues with EM are terrible. Autonomy over your schedule with EM... good luck. Quality standards, non-compliant patients, encroachment with mid-levels which may eventually impact job roles/expectations and salary (true for both fields), endless FMLA requests and tasks, etc. You'll definitely work for "the man" in EM and there is already concern for oversaturation of the field since you're beholden to the hospital and quite a few hospitals are opening new programs. I don't foresee oversaturation with FM, but again, you'll still probably work for "the man."