UMDNJ-SOM at Cherry Hill, NJ

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

prominence

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone (medical students, residents, and/or attendings) provide any feedback regarding this D.O. psychiatry residency program? My brother-in-law is applying there this upcoming match, but is from the West Coast originially.

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated from a program just about half an hour from this one, and its also part of the UMDNJ system, yet I hadn't had any interaction with them until the end of my 4th year.

While I was Chief Resident at UMDNJ-Camden & Atlantic Regional Medical Center, I needed to pull in grand rounds speakers. I figured since they were close, and they had psychiatry professors, why not ask them? That's what got me to interact with them (and remember this is my PGY-IV yeari--I had no interaction with them before and it was I who broke the ice). They couldn't give me any psychiatrists for grand rounds in the time frame I provided them. I also called their Chief Resident & asked him if we could mutually work on something together. The guy called me back & seemed to have a -whatever- attitude. Nothing ever came of it.

I really can't tell you much but here is what I do know--some of it may not be relevant for your purposes.

Their program director is very skilled in psychotherapy. At least that's the impression I got since he gave several excellent grand rounds on the topic at NJ-Psychiatric Association meetings. I remember he did some work over the standard in the area, but I forgot what that work was (authored a book?). I talked to him on a few occasions over the phone & met him at an NJPA meeting. He seemed like a nice guy.