UCLA vs UC Berkeley vs UC Merced

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

USCTrojanzzzz

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
I'm a transfer student from a Community College, and I was accepted to all of the UCs. I am having an incredibly hard time choosing between them, so I was hoping that I could get some advice. I didn't apply to private colleges, because I can't afford them.

My favorite campus was, by far Merced. I loved the isolated campus, and the small(ish) class sizes. I've spoken to professors who told me they would get me research if I were to attend. Merced is closer to home, which means I would be able to visit my parents more often. I also liked the collaborative environment at UCM.

However, my end goal is (obviously) to get into Medical School, and I want to attend the undergrad institution that will best enable me to do so. Everybody I've spoken to said I would be an idiot not to choose either Cal or UCLA. I disliked Cal's campus immensely, but could bear UCLA's (I don't like urban places, and Cal is right in the city; UCLA, however, is somewhat less crowded.) I also don't want to deal with crazy curves and lots of stress, if I can avoid it. I know every UC is rigorous, but it seems like UCLA and Cal take it to a different level.

Grade-wise, I think I would do far better at Merced than Berkeley and UCLA. In no ways am I saying Merced is going to be easy (in fact, I'm sure it'll still be very rigorous), but again, UCLA and Cal are on a different level, difficulty-wise.

Financially, I would be paying about the same for every school (~$10k a year.)

My question is, would attending Merced hurt my chances of getting into Med School? I'm honestly just trying to get into any MD (or DO) program (within the US) that accepts me. I don't care where I end up, as long as I become a doctor.