UC Berkeley or UW?

mintchip11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need to decide between UC Berkeley and the University of Washington. I am a Washington resident so the tuition for UW would be 20,000 cheaper than Berkeley, but Berkeley is arguably a better school...would the extra money be worth it? I can't seem to find statistics for either of the colleges’ med school acceptance rates...

Members don't see this ad.

I need to decide between UC Berkeley and the University of Washington. I am a Washington resident so the tuition for UW would be 20,000 cheaper than Berkeley, but Berkeley is arguably a better school...would the extra money be worth it? I can't seem to find statistics for either of the colleges’ med school acceptance rates...

I don't really know much about Washington, but I would definitely go to UW over Berkeley if it is 20k cheaper. I know I wanted to go to Berkeley, then I looked at the price tag:eek:. To be honest, the stats for colleges' med school acceptance rates, really rely on the individual students; if you are determined to get in, you will. Now, I'm sure school selection has to do a little bit with it as far as resources, but the main determinant has to do with the effort you put in.

If I were in your shoes I would choose UW because 20k is A LOT of money. I would go on a college visit of it and you might be surprised.

I'd definitely go for UW, but I'm biased because I'm a Washington state resident too. But consider the following:

-There's no arguing that cheaper is better than expensive. Thanks to this economy, Berkeley will get a kick out of ripping you off.
-Berkeley and UW are essentially on-par at the academic level for undergrads; Berkeley may edge it out in most rankings, but the extra cost is by no means worth it.
-Berkeley is crazy competitive. Not to sound sly, but you'll probably have an easier curve at UW.

Members don't see this ad :)