Typical College Major Question

bradleyba

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a sophomore in high school and I have wanted to work in labor and delivery for a long time. I initially wanted to be an L&D nurse, but I then decided that I am capable of becoming an OB/GYN and that is what I really want to do.

My sophomore year will be coming to an end in the next few months. So far, chemistry has been my favorite class. No doubt about it. Although it can be frustrating, I love it so much. I love being in the lab and there is something about finding the right answer to a chemistry problem that is so exciting! I am definitely a top chemistry student in my class and my teacher has made comments to me before about how he thinks I could be a chemist or a doctor one day. I realize I am only in entry level high school chemistry, but it interests me so much and I could really see myself majoring in this or maybe biochemistry in college.

The more I look in to it, the more people I see saying majoring in science is a bad idea. Typically I am a take charge kind of person and if I truly think I can do something I will. And I truly think I can major in chemistry. But I see so many doctors or medical students saying it's a bad idea because it will ruin my GPA or because it will take up MCAT studying time. I want to be able to succeed in college but I also want to do what interests me. I believe that if I worked my butt off in college and gave it my all, I could succeed as a chemistry major. But that isn't what other people seem to think. Basically my question is; is majoring in chemistry truly a bad idea? What other majors are a good choice? I know everyone says medical schools don't care, but I CARE and I want to major in something that interests me and prepares me for medical school.