Trouble with GRE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychNLife

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I studied with Kaplan Prep (all the premium stuff as well) for about 2 months, at about 3 hours per day 6/7 days per week. So, a LOT of studying. I ended up getting a V 162, Q149, and a AW likely to be a 5 (hasn't come in yet, but that's my average on all my practice ones). Now, I'm quite happy with that verbal and with the writing, but obviously that quantitative is quite low. However, when combined, it comes out to 311, which is indeed at the thresholds of most decent schools, right????? I have the feeling that if I wanted to apply to Rutgers or Yeshiva (both of which are high interest to me, but obviously competitive), I'd for sure have to retake it. Just took this official one on August 11th.

And I'm willing to retake it.... EXCEPT that some of these schools also require the Psych Subject Test...which I am forced to take on September 12th (was the last possible date until April which is too late... unless more spaces open up). So yeah.... not really enough time to study for both. So, do I spend more time studying for the subject test, or do I spend more time studying for my retake (which I could schedule with more flexibility, as it's only the subject test that's offered only 3 times per year). Both are required for schools like Rutgers (despite me being a psych major with a ~3.67 GPA)

Part of me wishes I had just gotten like 3 more quant points and then I would be fine leaving the current score for the GRE as is.... but now I'm unsure what to commit my time to.

EDIT: applying to a few PhD's, but mostly PsyD's, and maybe one or two masters.

Members don't see this ad.