Tricare Coverage Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jakab

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I figured some of you already out there would know the answer to this or would be able to let me know where I can find out.

I'm a HPSP medical student, and during the past year I've rapidly developed severe TMJ disorder. Unfortunately, my current school insurance (like most insurance companies nationwide) denies any and all coverage for TMJD, but I was wondering if Tricare covers anything.

Assuming I make it through the rest of school and go AD for residency, will I continue paying out of pocket for treatment or will Tricare pick up any of it. I've tried searching the Web but I can't seem to find a good answer. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry for the double post. Computer locked up on me for a sec.

Well,
They do cover TMD, but honestly the amount the allocate to pay is so crappy that in my area there are NO docs who will take tricare for this. Apparently the going rate for a "good" device/mold/treatment and such is like 1,500 bucks and tricare is low balling local guys for 500 and none are taking it in my local area. If you are fortunate enough to be at a resident teaching/large medical center with orthodontics/oral surgery residents and such you may luck out and get this done and don't have to worry about it, but otherwise you may be out of luck... It appears like the people who really know how to make these TMD devices are in demand that they can get the going rate...

My 2 cents

Members don't see this ad :)
Thx for the reply - I guess I'll hope that I'm at a large MTF where I can get some treatment. The state dental school near my medical school has a TMJ clinic but even a consult costs $250, so one can only guess how much treatment costs after that.