trends and overcoming bad gpa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

travellingpotato

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I just finished my 2nd year of undergraduate as a Cell Biology and Neuroscience major. Came to college ready to go to medical school and once I got here I couldn't really do well in school no matter how much work I put in. Got a C my first semester, then I decided to work even harder but I only got worse and worse grades. Right now my cgpa is a 3.033. Managed to get a 3.3 this semester but it is still no where near to where I would want it to be. Got mostly C's in all my science classes so far. Apart from my stats I am an EMT, I am involved in student leadership and residence life on campus, and been doing research for 3 semesters now. For next semester (fall junior) I decided to not load myself up as much and take it easy so I can get better grades. Also taking an mcat class over the summer so I can have enough time to get a good score on that. I would like to mention that my problem is that I am really not used to the way I should be studying in college and although I am putting in time I am not getting the results I am working for. I do not know if it is the fact that I moved from another country and I am used to the way I would study there or the fact that I get anxiety before exams but I am seeking help for my learning issues :)
My questions are:
1) how much do MD and DO schools care about upward trends and if I were to bring my grades up to around a 3.5 and hypothetically get a really really good percentile on the mcat would I have any chances (I will probably take one year off for a master's to improve my grades or research)
2) do you have any advice on how I should approach science classes in general and how to do better, I am done with organic chemistry so I am diving into some more advances neuroscience courses and I would appreciate any advice I can get