traveling vet surgeon?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jiaky

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! :clap:

I am a vet graduated 2 years ago, and had 1.5 year of experience in a SA hospital. I love travelling and surgeries, and had a (unrealistic) dream of doing both of them together, for example, a relief /locum vet that work 3 months in a place, and travel from country to country. The biggest problem would be certification and licensing, and i got my DVM from a South East Asia country.

1. What certification should i looking for, so that i can work in more countries?
for example, if i go through
pave/ecfvg--navle--state license--i can work in US only?
mrcvs--i can work in all europe countries? or each country have different exams?
australia/ NZ national board exam-- aus/nz only?
or are they accepted between each other?

2. Lets say if somehow i got myself an internship and residency, pass through speciality board, and become board certified surgeon, will that make things easier?

i know it sounds quite impossible. Hope someone can provide some ideas or your experiences. thanks in advance. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone! :clap:

I am a vet graduated 2 years ago, and had 1.5 year of experience in a SA hospital. I love travelling and surgeries, and had a (unrealistic) dream of doing both of them together, for example, a relief /locum vet that work 3 months in a place, and travel from country to country. The biggest problem would be certification and licensing, and i got my DVM from a South East Asia country.

1. What certification should i looking for, so that i can work in more countries?
for example, if i go through
pave/ecfvg--navle--state license--i can work in US only?
mrcvs--i can work in all europe countries? or each country have different exams?
australia/ NZ national board exam-- aus/nz only?
or are they accepted between each other?